Taylor GS Mini bone saddle upgrade

Did a bone saddle upgrade on this GS Mini Koa a few weeks back.

img_1134

In case you’re wondering if I got the wrong picture, this is the special edition which sports a laminated koa body and spruce top. And I got to admit spruce top is my preference for acoustic tops. This one sounds more powerful than my koa top version. More comparison pictures later.

Bearclaw Special

Let’s give the GS Mini some TLC.

img_1136

Can you tell which part just got some lemon oil and 0000 steel wool? These days I end off with a layer of Dr Duck’s Ax Wax. That thing is awesome.

Gave the nut slots some pencil lead too.

Preparing the guitar

The guitar came to me with high action due to high saddle and some swelling. I had to dehumidify it for two days before I started work.

Final shaping to the bone saddle

I use the Taylor factory part bone saddle. It looks better with that wave compensation and it’s so easy to work with. Just very minor tweaks and it’s good.

img_1137

Some sanding and fine-tune to ensure it’s a good fit.

img_1143

OK, nice looking wave compensated bone saddle. Gave it a good overall clean and polish and it’s ready to go back to the owner.

Some notes to ponder, I restrung the guitar with 12-53 gauge (Elixirs of course) to prevent the top and bridge from lifting. Owner was receptive to the idea despite the loss of volume.

We had some time to take a few pictures with the koa buddy.

img_1144

They look happy to be posing together.

img_1145

A pair of sexy backs here. I have to be honest about this – the crisp, clear attack of the spruce top is really nice. Winner.

img_1142

Roger was my assistant for this project. Here he is smiling away again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

